New Ruling: Texas Handgun License for 18 to 20-Year-Olds
The federal judge's ruling has made it possible for individuals between 18 and 20 years old to obtain a Texas LTC. This pivotal decision empowers young Texans to carry a handgun in public, just like everyone else with a license. Consequently, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has lowered the minimum age requirement to 18 for obtaining an LTC.
State of Texas laws allow a resident once licensed, to carry a handgun either concealed or openly carried if holstered in a belt or shoulder holster for self-protection. Obtaining a permit to carry handgun in the State of Texas requires a FOUR TO SIX hour Licensed to Carry Handgun Certification Course which is outlined by the State Department of Public Safety and covers the Use of Force, Gun Safety, Gun Storage, Dispute Resolution and Texas laws regarding use of force as a defense and licensing requirements.
In addition to the required classroom and range time. Concealed Carry of Amarillo wants your class to be enjoyable and comfortable. We know that some classes out there are very intimidating and make the students nervious and sometimes a little scared. Especially for new shooters. Rosemarie and I do our best to make our classes very laid back, not intimidating, easy to understand. We all this in mind we will provide you with the following:
All the paperwork needed to TDPS
LTC-100 for In Class
LTC-101 you bring - On Line Class
B27 target provided
You don't have a firearms
We rent target 22s with ammo for $25
As a Federal Firearms Dealer, I aslo sell firearms - www.tangleairefirearms.com
Donald & Rosemarie Gerber
Concealed Carry of Amarillo takes pride in the classes we teach. Our LTC classes are comprehensive and cover all the information necessary to get your license to carry a handgun. Between the time you start reading our website and end of your class, you will be able to confidently and successfully apply for your LTC. Taking a Texas LTC class and learning the laws in Texas is a decision that will help keep you from unwittingly committing a felony offense while carrying your handgun. We can now also be found as our firearms sales can be found at www.TangleaireFirearms.com as a FFL dealer selling firearms to our students - at a discounted price.
---What is a Texas License to Carry “handgun license?”
A concealed handgun license (CHL), now License to Carry (LTC) allows an individual to carry a concealed or openly carried handgun where ever it is legal to do so.
---Why take a Licensed to Carry class?
Even if you do not intend to carry a firearm, if you own one in the State of Texas, attending this class will furnish you the necessary knowledge of the Texas laws regarding weapons, the Use of Force and the Use of Deadly Force.
The only way to get a LTC in the state of Texas is to take an approved LTC class. In the class you will learn the laws associated with carrying a concealed or openly carried handgun, gain the knowledge necessary to legally carry a handgun in Texas, the basics of shooting and demonstrate your proficiency with your handgun. The possession of a LTC will also exempt you from the necessary background check when purchasing a firearm, making the process quicker and easier.